ISRHML
The International Society for Research in
Human Milk and Lactation
ISRHML
The International Society for Research in
Human Milk and Lactation
ISRHML
The International Society for Research in
Human Milk and Lactation
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Impact of pregnancy complications on breast milk, breastfeeding and infants: Where are we now?

May 25, 2021 @ 11:00 pm

Professor Mary E Wlodek
Professor, The University of Melbourne, Visiting Professor, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, National University of Singapore

Impact of pregnancy complications on breast milk, breastfeeding and infants: Where are we now?

Infants born from complicated pregnancies often show altered growth during infancy and are at increased risk of NCDs. As the placenta and breast are mediators of nutrient and non-nutritive bioactive factors to the fetus and infant, they have been implicated in pathways programming growth and NCD risk and are the foundation of DOHaD. Breast milk is well-recognized as the ‘first food’ and best nutrition for the baby in the first 6 months of life. Emerging evidence from our pre-clinical models and human studies will be presented to suggest that breast milk health and/or quantity and breastfeeding duration may be altered in women with pregnancy complications impacting breastfeeding duration. Breastfeeding offers a unique and feasible intervention window to improve the health of the baby’s ‘first food’ for the increasing number of infants born to mothers with pregnancy complications.

Click here for the webinar flyer.

May 25, 2021 11:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada) / 5:00 AM CEST / 11:00 AM AWST

Details

Date:
May 25, 2021
Time:
11:00 pm
Event Category:
https://isrhml.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/May_25.pdf

Organizer

Professor Mary E Wlodek